Posted by: Angie | December 5, 2008

How arthritis affects my life?

Before my life changing knee surgury in October, arthritis impacted my life greatly.  I couldn’t stand long enough to wash a sink full of dishes. If I did the dishes, I would have to stop after 5 minutes and sit down.  As I was sitting down, I felt as though I had to “break” my leg in half in order to sit down, because my knee was locked.  To give my daughter her bath, I have to sit on the toilet because I can no longer kneel.  Taking her to park was horrible because I can’t climb and help her at the same time. 

My hands hurt as well as my wrists about 50% of the time.  I tried to braid my daughters hair the other day and my hands just wouldn’t work.  I can pick up and immediately drop a pen as many as 5 times before I can actually keep it in my hands.  When Little A was a baby I was so worried about dropping her.  I would cry during my middle of the night battles with her not because I was tired but because I was hurting.  My pain was so consuming that I didn’t even care that my daughter was upset about something.  I hate that I get that way sometimes, but it is a fact of my life.

My feet hurt so much sometimes that it is like needles piercing my feet when they hit the floor in the morning.  My body is always making cracking and groaning notices all the time by itself. 

I am on Humira which is a self-injectable medication that is supposed to stop the progression of this disease.  At first, sticking a needle in my body was both upseting and difficult.  I mean who really wants to make themselves hurt and bleed.  But I got used to it.  It doesn’t even hurt or burn anymore.  I also inject it into my stomach in the area that is now numb because of my c-section.

After my surgery and my physical therapy, I can now stand about a half an hour before I start getting tired mostly because I still have a lot of muscle that I need to strengthen.  I hope that in the spring I will have surgery on my other knee because I already know that it has arthritis but we don’t know if it contains PVNS.  I don’t want to wait until my right one gets bad like the left one did.

My wonderful surgeon told me that I will need a total knee replacement one day.  That’s a scary thought that by the age of 30, it has already been determined that I will need a TKR, but it’s a truth I have to face.

Going forward I have to live my life to fullest, but remember I have limitations.  If I need help, I need to ask.  It may make me feel like a burden to my family and friends sometimes, but what else am I supposed to do.  Everyone has their faults and arthritis is mine.

Responses

  1. Wow.

    I am writing this with a brace on my wrist from my carpel tunnel (I think) – although I fear – at just 29 – that I am too going to have major arthritis later in life.

    Is it arthritis? I had the same thing – when Ben was a super tiny baby – I couldn’t pick him up – my hands just wouldn’t work. So scary.

    I think I can safely say, I feel some of your pain… and am sending you big hugs.

  2. Thanks for the hugs. We all need them sometimes.
    Yes, I have a mild to severe case of psoriatic arthritis. If you think you may have arthritis or carpel tunnel, I would definitely get in to see a rhematogist so you can catch the problem before it gets worse. I wish I did.
    I was diagnosed with arthritis when I found out I was pregnant, which was also the week I finished my masters and my daughters fathers wanted me to abort her. Yeah, that was tough week and a half, but I survived.


Leave a Reply

Categories

