Posted by: Angie | February 17, 2009

New Doors and Little A (and I) survived her first overnight stay

First of all, I am shocked that the Father of the Year actually did keep his word and picked her up on Friday at school.  He took everything home with him including the stuff from the Valentine’s Day party.

My first night “off” in almost three years was very low key.  I did a few errands and took the dogs with me.  The J-Man stopped by for a little while as did my best friend.  Then I went out for a drive around 10 PM.  I didn’t make any plans for the evening because one I don’t have any money and two I wasn’t sure if she would make it through the night.  I also didn’t sleep one wink because the house was so quiet. 

open-doorI had be up and moving by 7 on Saturday morning because my new doors were being installed.  So it was very nice not having Little A home while they put in the new doors.  It was also very cold in the house and the animals were stuck in the bedrooms so they wouldn’t get in the way or sneak out. 

P.S. My new doors are fabulous.  I don’t see the light coming in around the jams, don’t feel the breeze 7 feet from the door, and they are so much brighter than the dark stained wood ones that I had before. 

P.S.S.  I am hoping that these new doors are also a metaphor for my life.  Since I’m opening new doors into my home, maybe new doors will open up in my life.  Maybe even the door to the man of my dreams.  🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

